Michelle D. Deardorff Home
JSU Political Science Dept.

Michelle D. Deardorff  is Professor and Chair of Political Science at Jackson State University in Jackson, Mississippi. Since earning her Ph.D. from Miami University in 1993, Dr. Deardorff’s teaching and research have focused on the constitutional and statutory protections surrounding gender, race, and religion. Her research has been published in such journals as the Journal of Women, Politics, and Policy; PS: Political Science and Politics; Social Science Journal; National Journal of Political Science; and, the Journal of Political Science Education, as well as in edited collections. She is currently completing a book, entitled Pregnancy and the American Worker, which examines the lower federal courts’ interpretation of the Pregnancy Discrimination Act of 1978 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 in relationship to pregnancy protections in employment. Prior to her relocation to Jackson State in 2003, Deardorff was the Griswold Distinguished Professor of Political Science, former chair of the Department of Political Science, and Acting Dean of Arts and Sciences at Millikin University in Decatur, Illinois. Michelle is a founding member of the Fannie Lou Hamer National Institute on Citizenship and Democracy, a coalition of academics who promote civic engagement and popular sovereignty through the study of the struggle for civil rights in the United States. In 2009, the American Political Science Association (APSA) published Assessment in Political Science, a primer on programmatic and classroom assessment within the discipline, co-edited by Deardorff, Kerstin Hamann, and John Ishiyama. Oxford University Press published in 2011 the two-volume set, Constitutional Law in Contemporary America, written by David Schultz, John R. Vile, and Deardorff. Most recently, she joined Brigid Harrison and Jean Harris as an author of the McGraw-Hill text American Democracy Now, currently in its third edition. She serves as the chair of the APSA standing Committee on Teaching and Learning for the 2011-2014 term.