Header image  
Professional Summary

Professional Biography

CHRIS ANSON is University Distinguished Professor, Professor of English, and Director of the Campus Writing and Speaking Program at North Carolina State University, where he teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in language, composition, and literacy and works with faculty in nine colleges to reform undergraduate education in the areas of writing and speaking. Before moving to NCSU in 1999, he spent fifteen years at the University of Minnesota, where he directed the Program in Composition from 1988-96 and was Professor of English and Morse-Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor. He received his Ph.D. and second M.A. in English with a specialization in composition studies from Indiana University, and his B.A. and first M.A. in English from Syracuse University.

Chris has received numerous awards, including the State of Minnesota Higher Education Teaching Excellence Award, the Morse-Alumni Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education, and the Governor's Star Service Award for his service-learning work at Minnesota. He was an NCTE Promising Researcher Award Finalist and has received or participated as a co-principal investigator in over $1 million in grants.

An avid writer, Chris has published 15 books and over 100 journal articles and book chapters and is on the editorial or reader's boards of ten journals, including CCC, CE, RTE, Across the Disciplines, Written Communication, Assessing Writing, and The Journal of Writing Assessment. He is currently working on a research project exploring the effect of teachers' oral screen-capture responses on students' understanding and improvement of their writing.

Chris has given over 490 conference papers, keynote addresses, and invited lectures and faculty workshops across the U.S. and in 25 foreign countries.

Chris is Assistant Chair of the Conference on College Composition and Communication, a position that will take him through the leadership and place him as Chair in 2013. He served as President of the Council of Writing Program Administrators from 2002-2005 and spent seven additional years on the WPA Executive Board. He has also served on the CCCC Executive Committee (1993-96), the CCCC Outstanding Book Award Committee (2008-9), the CCCC Resolutions Committee (2002 and 2005), the CCC Editor Search Committee (2003-4), the CCCC Committee on Professional Standards (1990-93, co-chair 1993), the CCCC Committee on Issues in the Profession (2004-present), the CCCC Nominating Committee (1988 and again as chair in 1999), the CCCC Exemplar Award Committee (1996), the NCTE/CEE Nominating Committee (1987), the NCTE Committee on Language Across the Curriculum (1988-91), and the NCTE Board of Directors (1985-99). He chaired the NCTE Assembly for Research in 1992-3 and was program co-chair of the NCTE Global Conference on Language and Literacy (2000, Utrecht, Netherlands) and the Sixth Conference of the National Testing Network in Writing (1987). He chaired the WPA Task Force on Plagiarism and the WPA Task Force on Internationalization. He formed and chaired the MMLA's WAC Section (1989-1994).

His full c.v. is located at http://www.home.earthlink.net/~theansons/Portcover.html